Looking for opinions on blackout alternative

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mustang Mach 1 351c FMX trans and 9 inch rear end
Okay, I know some people are going to think I am speaking blasphemously, but hear me out. My Mustang is painted white and just needs the lower blackout and hood blackout done. My friend Mike manages the body shop it is at and the owner has no issue with me painting it on Saturdays when Mike is there to make sure I don't do anything stupid. Fair enough, I am not a professional and he doesn't want his shop burnt down, lol. The problem is, Mike has two nephews that are carpenters redoing his deck and will be working on that for the next five Saturdays. That means the soonest we can start working on the black-out is late July.
I have a buddy that does automotive wraps professionally for the last 25 years or so and is a master. He told me that he could wrap the lower body with the accent stripe and the hood blackout with the accent stripe in satin black for a crazy low price. He says it will come out better than paint, he can use the graphics express stencil for shape and dimensions of the hood black-out and it will be right, guaranteed. He also joked that he and his guys could install all of the other stripes and decals for me and "the stripes won't be crooked like they are on a lot of Mustangs he sees at shows" lol.