Master cylinder push rod and brake lines

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woolznaz

Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mustang convertible, 351 Cleveland, FMX transmission
I'm replacing my master cylinder which was leaking. Brake fluid was leaking out the back between the master cylinder and the power booster. I've never done this before, so I have a couple of questions.

1) Is it normal that the push rod going from the booster to the master cylinder can just be pulled out after the MC is removed? That surprised me. Once I took the MC off, that rod could just be pulled right out of the booster. I assumed it would be attached to something. Is this normal?

2) Should I replace the hard brake lines even though they are not leaking. This seems like it would be very difficult -- to twist and weave new lines into place -- unless you had the motor out or a lot of other systems/hoses/brackets/etc. off the car. Have any of you replaced brake lines without significantly dismantling more of the car? Is it physically possible to get new hard lines in place without taking a lot more apart?

Ideally, I would like to just flush out the lines as well as I can, but I have a feeling the right thing to do is replace them.

The master cylinder had a pretty good build up of "sludge" on the back side where it was leaking (see picture) and also in the bottom of both bowls.

master cylinder back sludge close up.JPG

However, from reading on here it sounds like many of you would suggest my brake lines are probably "rotting" from the inside out. None of them are leaking, but do you think they are rusty and is that where all of the "sludge" build up in the MC came from?

Thanks for any advice.