351 2v to 4v conversation

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

73FastBk

Reaction score
So fellas I’ve been doing plenty of research but wanted to talk to the guys here who know or have done similar swaps. I have a 351C 1973, I just got a set of 4v closed chamber heads. As of now I need a carb and also looking for a good dizzy.

My question is what is a great intake manifold that’s a true 4v size and also dizzy combo. I’d like to keep the dizzy smaller size not the huge cap.

Also what’s a good stall rpm? I’m still learning about that stuff which is over my head atm haha. Ty in advance!

It really depends on your goals for your car. Dual plane intakes are more street friendly (better low-end response) while single plane intakes provide top end performance. Either will work with the right combination of engine parts and driveline mods.
Blue Thunder makes a dual plane intake that works well on the 351C 4V heads. If you have Ram Air, though, you may have clearance issues. The Edelbrock Air Gap intake is designed to work on both 2V and 4V heads and has decent dyno numbers, according to some online reviewers -- do a Google search and see for yourself. I run an Edelbrock 351 4V Performer RPM since it was what was available back then. No complaints. There's a few others out there from Offenhauser and Weiand, but I'll defer to other's opinions on these.
There are several good ignition systems to consider. If you're running a carburetor I like the Ford Duraspark 1 setup. There are different Pertronix setups members on here use -- some have opinions on these.
If you're planning to go fuel injection ask some of the members on here which ignition systems work with EFI.
Stall speed depends on you cam profile and gear ratio. You'll want to do your homework on these to get a combination that works well before spending your money on anything.