Total drivetrain swap

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mach73

Reaction score
My Car
'73 Mach 1
Hey guys, got a few crazy questions. My engine, 302, blew 2 days ago and I have been wanting for a long time to drop a 460 in her. So I was wondering about buying a late 80s donor truck with a 460, zf5, and 10.25 rear end.

I know the 460 will fit with change of mounts, but what about that zf5 in the tyranny tunnel?

Also, will that big ole rear-end slide in there?

I am a Welder fabricator, and don't mind making parts, however I'm not going to beat the tranny tunnel in. I know this is sort of extreme but just need to know if it will fit. Thanks in advance

That transmission has a granny low, which would never be needed in a Mustang, plus it is big with a big bell housing, plus the shifter would likely hit the dash. The rear end will not fit, it is way too wide, plus it would likely hit the gas tank, plus, whether it has an 8 bolt lug pattern or 5 bolt it will have a different lug pattern than the front.

No need to reinvent the wheel and make extra work for yourself. Search 460's on Craigslist and find one with a C6 attached and install everything with factory mounts. If you are going to do a lot of racing, then upgrade the rear axle to a 9".

You could use a later model 460, but the heads won't line up to older carbureted intake manifolds, so in my opinion, they are good for block cores only.

Here in MI there are usually a couple of motor/trans combos for sale for under a grand that would fit the bill nicely.

Just my $0.02...