What the heck is this??

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tkelley72

Reaction score
My Car
72 mustang convertible
Hoping someone can tell me what this gray powder is in my metering block? Everything I have read says that white residue is from Ethanol but this stuff is gray and literally caked in there blocking everything up. For some history, I have been having carb. issues for a couple of months now. Since I have never rebuilt a carb. I payed someone to do it for me. I know he took it apart and cleaned it because I saw it disassembled. Long story short, the carb. has less than 2 hours total run time on it when my idle problem resurfaced. With help and personal direction from forum member "Basstrix", I took the plunge and pulled the carb. apart and found this. Obviously I'm no expert, but how could this much stuff build up in my carb. after only 2 hours of run time and more importantly what is it and where did it come from? I know the gas in my tank is old probably bad but I did pump some into a plastic bottle to see if there was any obvious trash from the tank. Nothing, no rust or sediment that I could see. I have the carb. thoroughly cleaned with carb. cleaner and blown out with compressed air. It's ready to test to see if my idle problem is solved once and for all but I don't want to run the engine until I can figure out what this gray powder is, where it came from and will it happen again or is there a way to prevent it going forward. Hoping maybe someone out there has an answer. I'd be asking "Basstrix" if I could since he's been such a great help but unfortunately for me he's on a "cruise" catching some rays somewhere right now. Thanks guys....

Attachments

• metering block.JPG
    metering block.JPG
    2.6 MB · Views: 5